Date: June, 2nd 2021



Lee Ryan, Chair 2nd Judicial District

Jim Dodson, Vice-Chair City of Fairbanks and North Star Borough

Adam White Non-Commercial Aviation

Robert Hajdukovich Statewide Air Carriers Association

Marilyn Romano Alaska International Airport System Signatory Air Carriers

Dennis Parrish Alaska International Airport System Non-Airline Tenants

Gideon Garcia All-Cargo Carriers

Frank Neitz Unorganized Borough

David Wilson Public Users

Michael Reeve Regional Air Carriers

Steve Strait Municipality of Anchorage

Aviation Advisory Board Resolution No. 2022-2

A Resolution in Support of the DOT&PF Alaska Airport Resiliency Study

Whereas: Aviation provides the only connection to outside goods, medical services, and transportation in many rural areas of Alaska.

Whereas: This vital connection to rural communities is entirely dependent upon safe, reliable, and accessible airports.

Whereas: Many of these airports across Alaska experience similar issues affecting the safe and efficient operation of aircraft taking off and landing, such as coastal and river erosion, embankment failures, extreme weather events, vegetation overgrowth, and airport lighting outages.

Whereas: The proposed Western Alaska Airport Resiliency Study, as part of the Alaskan Aviation System Plan Phase III (AASP), presents an opportunity to collaboratively identify and document best practices for airport design and construction, mitigation of environmental hazards, and infrastructure management to extend the life expectancy and safety of rural airports.

Therefore, be it resolved: The Aviation Advisory Board encourages DOT&PF to pursue the Western Alaska Airport Resiliency Study to foster innovative research and ensure investments in aviation infrastructure are being utilized to the fullest potential.

Be it further resolved: We request that stakeholder input be included in the study to provide a collaborative approach and ensure efficient use of State resources.

Signed:

Lee M. Ryan, Aviation Advisory Board Chair