

Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities P.O. Box 196900 • Anchorage, AK 99519-6900

Lee Ryan Chair Unalakleet 2<sup>nd</sup> Judicial District

Jim Dodson Vice-Chair Fairbanks Mayor's of City of Fairbanks and North Star Borough

Tom George Fairbanks Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Robert Hajdukovich Fairbanks Alaska Air Carriers Association

Marilyn Romano Anchorage Alaska International Airports System Operating Agreement Signatory

Dennis Parrish Anchorage Non-Airline Tenants

Gideon Garcia Anchorage All-Cargo Air Carrier

Frank Neitz Bethel Unorganized Borough

Earl Samuelson Napaskiak Public Users

Mike Stedman Juneau Regional Air Carrier

Steve Strait Anchorage Mayor of the Municipality of Anchorage Representative

## Aviation Advisory Board Resolution No. 2017-1

## Resolution Supporting Revenue Enhancement for the Rural Alaska Aviation System

Whereas, the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities (ADOT&PF) has responsibility for operating and maintaining 240 rural public airports; and

**Whereas**, additional revenue is needed to support the operation and maintenance of the rural aviation system; and

**Whereas**, the Governor requested the Aviation Advisory Board to work with ADOT&PF leadership to explore various revenue opportunities for the rural aviation system

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:** In order to help support the sustained operations of the Alaska Rural Aviation System, the Aviation Advisory Board recommends increasing the motor fuel tax, as proposed by Governor Bill Walker's bill submitted to the Alaska Legislature on 15 December 2016.

This recommendation is predicated and conditional upon on the revenues being used to support the rural aviation system outside the Alaska International Airport System, and further statewide revenue generation and increased operating efficiencies.

Signed:

Date: January 25, 2017

Lee M. Ryan, Aviation Advisory Board Chair