
      
Airport Operations Office State of Alaska 

 5195 Brumbaugh Blvd. Department of Transportation & Public Facilities 
Fairbanks, AK 99709 Fairbanks International Airport 

 Telephone:  907-474-2519 Application for  
 Fax:   907-474-2512  Commercial Passenger Vehicle Permit 
    

o:\commercial vehicles - leasing\cpvp\cpvp\app-cpv 5-7-15.doc Page 1 of 3   Rev. 5/7/15 
 

 
Date:   ADA-                   
 
1. Name of Applicant:   2. Telephone No.:      
 
3. Mailing Address:   4. Fax No.       
 
    5. Email:       
 
6. Name to appear on Permit:   7. Telephone No.      
 
8. Address to appear on Permit:   9. Fax No.:     
  
    10 Email:       
 
11. Billing Address:    12. Incorporated?   Yes  No 
 
      Where?   When?    
 
13. Desired Begin Date: End Date:   14. Registered in the State of Alaska? Yes No  
 
15. List activities or business functions:             
 
                 
 
                 
 
16. On the back of this application list the vehicles to be operated on the airport under this permit.   
 
17. Application Fee:  Permit must be accompanied by a $25.00 non-refundable application fee.  Please make checks 

payable to “State of Alaska”.  (Government agencies are exempt).  Incomplete applications will not be processed. 
 
19. Permit Fees:  A permittee shall pay the applicable fee for the permit established in the fee schedule adopted under 

17 AAC 42.125.   In addition, monthly submittals of Certified Activity Reports verifying gross sales and/or passenger 
numbers may be required. 

 
  Tour Bus Operations: The greater of a $250 Permit Fee or $.25 cents per passenger picked up and per passenger 

dropped off.   
 
  
 
Applicant’s signature:      Applicant’s Title:       
 
Print name:       Date:         
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LIST THE VEHICLES TO BE OPERATED ON THE AIRPORT UNDER THIS PERMIT 
 
 Year  Make Model License Plate No.  Issuing State  Serial No.  Seating capacity 
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a. To operate a commercial passenger vehicle business on an airport, a person must hold a current commercial 
passenger vehicle permit.   

b. A person must submit an application for a commercial passenger vehicle permit in writing to the airport manager and 
include  

 1. a list of vehicles that the applicant proposes to operate on the airport under the commercial passenger vehicle 
permit;  the list must include the year, make, model, license plate number and issuing state, serial number, and 
seating capacity, including the driver, for each vehicle;  

 2. a description of the services that the applicant proposes to offer under the permit; and 
 3. any application fee established under 17 AAC 42.125. 
c. The airport manager shall approve an application for a commercial passenger vehicle permit unless the manager 

determines that 
 1. the application must be denied under 17 AAC 42.010(g); 
 2. the proposed activity would interfere with or is otherwise incompatible with the security, safety, maintenance, or 

operation of the airport; 
 3. the proposed activity is not allowed under applicable law, the state’s obligations under revenue bonds issued 

under AS 37.15.410 - 37.15.550, an exclusive right the department has granted to another person, a covenant 
running with the airport land, or an applicable FAA grant assurance adopted by reference under 
17 AAC 42.010(d); 

 4. the proposed activity would result in a violation of applicable law; or 
 5.  the proposed activity is inconsistent with sound airport planning. 
d. A decision by the airport manager to deny an application for a commercial passenger vehicle permit must be in writing.  
e. A commercial passenger vehicle permit is not transferable and may not exceed a term of five years. A shuttle permit is 

not transferrable and may not exceed a term of one year.  
f. A commercial passenger vehicle permittee shall pay the applicable fee established under 17 AAC 42.125. 
g. A commercial passenger vehicle permittee shall provide such evidence of insurance coverage for the permittee's 

operations on the airport as the airport manager determines appropriate under 17 AAC 42.410(b)(15), considering the 
number, type, and passenger capacity of the permittee's vehicles and the nature of the proposed activity. 

h.   A commercial passenger vehicle permittee may not use or operate a vehicle on the airport in conjunction with a 
commercial passenger vehicle business unless the vehicle is listed on the permit and displays the identification 
described in this subsection.  For each calendar year and for each vehicle listed on the permit, a permittee shall, upon 
payment of any applicable fee established under 17 AAC 42.125, obtain from the airport manager a sticker or other 
form of identification designated by the manager.  The manager shall mail or deliver identification for a vehicle only to a 
person who has a permit at the airport, has paid any applicable fee, and has submitted the vehicle information required 
under b.1. of this section for that calendar year.  A permittee shall maintain conspicuously affixed to each vehicle the 
current year’s identification that the manager has issued for that vehicle. 

i. A commercial passenger vehicle permittee that operates a vehicle on airport property shall keep the vehicle in safe 
operating condition.  The airport manager shall order a permittee to remove from service any vehicle of the permittee 
that the manager determines to be unsafe or otherwise in violation of this section. 

j. A commercial passenger vehicle permittee may park, wait, and drop off or pick up a passenger only at a premises or in 
an area that the airport manager has designated for that purpose. The operator will not solicit business in any manner 
nor remove baggage from inside the terminal. The operator is required to remain within the immediate proximity of the 
vehicle (less than 10 feet from vehicle). Vehicles shall not be left unattended at any time on an Airport curb.  

k. A commercial passenger vehicle permittee may cancel a permit and cease operations at the airport at any time on 
written notice to the airport manager.  

l. The airport manager shall, after written notice to the permittee, cancel a commercial passenger vehicle permit and 
invalidate all vehicle identification issued to the permittee if the manager determines that the permittee 

 1. is not in compliance with the permit and has not corrected the noncompliance within 10 days after receipt of the 
notice; or 

 2. has ceased commercial passenger vehicle operations on the airport.  
m. Cancellation of a commercial passenger vehicle permit by the airport manager must be in writing and state the reasons 

for the cancellation.  
n. A commercial passenger vehicle permittee may not, on the basis of the distance to be transported, refuse to transport 

a person who agrees to pay the appropriate fare. 
o. An applicant or commercial passenger vehicle permittee may protest the airport manager's decision to deny an 

application or cancel a commercial passenger vehicle permit in accordance with 17 AAC 42.910.  


